The Sussex Miniature Locomotive Society (SMLS) was formed in 1951 and opened its 3 1/2 & 5 inch dual gauge raised level track three years later on 10th May 1954. Originally the track only ran around the bowling greens, but in 1974 it was doubled in length to its present size of almost half a mile. Further improvements over the years means that the railway now boasts two tunnels, steaming bays, covered accommodation for rolling stock, fully automatic colour light signalling, club house and extensive workshops.
The society now has about 90 members and we always welcome anyone who is interested in joining the society.
In August 2018 the railway carried its 1,500,000th passenger.